Double Exposure, Inc.
  • July 16, 2019, 02:59:19 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Current Rules  (Read 1718 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Dragontologist

  • Con Suite: Feeding Hungry Gamers Everywhere
  • Administrator
  • Mega Meeper
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1286
    • Double Exposure
Current Rules
« on: July 05, 2016, 12:48:12 PM »

SIMPLIFIED CONFLICTS (NO ALLIES)
CONFLICT: Alice (the aggressor) decides she wants to punch Billy (the defender) in the face. (It could have also been an argument, or a fireball, or an attempt to steal something. Anything someone doesn’t want another person to do can be conflict! But face-punching is pretty classic.)
PINK ELEPHANT*: Alice can choose to NOT spend any Higgs, and Billy can respond without spending any Higgs in return by just saying “I dodge” or “I take the hit” or whatever. Because no Higgs were spent, it’s purely roleplaying. There’s no permanent effect, unless the players agree to it.

INITIATION (Aggressor): Alice can decide to make this an official conflict by spending a Higgs while throwing her punch. By initiating the conflict, Alice becomes the Aggressor. Note that the maximum amount of Higgs Alice can spend in a one-on-one match is one Higgs.
 
DEFENDER OPTIONS:
ESCALATION: Billy spends Higgs, and then it becomes Alice’s turn. As the Defender, Billy must MATCH the Higgs that Alice has in the pot. (In 1v1, this should never be more than one)
CONCESSION: Billy concedes the conflict, and Alice is declared the winner. Billy does not put in any Higgs when doing this.

AGGRESSOR OPTIONS:
ESCALATION: Alice spends Higgs, and then it’s Billy’s turn. As the Aggressor, Alice must spend MORE than the amount Billy has in the pot. (In 1v1, this should never be more than one)
ARBITRATION (AGGRESSOR ONLY): Alice (the aggressor) asks Billy (the defender) for a coin arbitration. When this occurs, Alice and Billy should both have the same amount in the pot.
If Billy declines the arbitration, then Billy becomes the Aggressor, and Alice becomes the Defender, and it becomes Billy’s turn (but he does NOT have the option to offer Arbitration immediately after declining Arbitration).
If Billy accepts the arbitration, Billy flips a coin and Alice calls it in the air. The winner of the coin flip is the winner of the conflict.
CONCESSION: Billy concedes the conflict, and Alice is declared the winner. Billy does not put in any Higgs when doing this.
 
The conflict continues to ESCALATE until someone concedes or an arbitration is accepted.
 
RESOLUTION: The LOSER takes back the Higgs they spent in the conflict. The WINNER’S Higgs are divided in half, 50% rounded down going to the Nexus, and 50% rounded up going to the loser.
The WINNER of the conflict announces a simple description of what they want the end result of the conflict to resolve (which has to be naturally flowing from the original source of the conflict). For example, “I want to break Billy’s nose” or “I want to dodge and punch Alice back.”
The LOSER then describes what actually happens, such as “Alice’s punch goes wild, and I block, but don’t get a chance to block her second punch. My nose is broken, and blood streams down my face.” The LOSER is required to fulfil the request of the winner’s request. If they can’t come up with a good description or story, they have the option of allowing the WINNER to describe it instead.

CONFLICT WITH ALLIES
Conflict works the same as above, but with the following additions:
ALLIES JOIN: Allies have the option to join in on a side during that side’s turn (including during the INITIATION phase). Every Ally that joins must match the amount of Higgs that their side has put in so far. If an ally joins, this replaces the ESCALATION phase, and others on that side do not need to put in additional Higgs until their next turn. (Exception: On the first turn for each side, if an ally joins, the Aggressor/Defender will not have put in any Higgs yet. In this case, the Defender must put in one Higgs and THEN the allies must match it).
The ESCALATION phase changes slightly. When a player ESCALATES, they must match (defender) or exceed (aggressor) the amount on the other side, adding together the main player and their allies. So if Alice has three allies, they are adding 1 Higgs each on their turn, for a total of 4 Higgs. If Billy had one Ally, he and his Ally would need to put in 2 each, also totaling 4. (If there’s an odd number, the players on that side still all put in the same number each, even if it causes the Defender to have more Higgs in the pot than the Aggressor.)
ALLIES WITHDRAW: If an ally withdraws from a conflict, they immediately forfeit all Higgs they’ve put into the fight, and these Higgs are divided into the pot of the players on that side of the conflict. The player that withdrew is no longer considered to be an ally, and they are no longer eligible for rewards of any sort in the RESOLUTION phase. However, they are also no longer able to be affected by negative roleplay effects in the RESOLUTION phase. The side they withdrew from still must match (defender) or exceed (aggressor) the amount on the other side as normal.
The RESOLUTION phase changes slightly as well. The LOSER and the LOSING ALLIES of the conflict takes back the Higgs they spent in the conflict. The WINNER and the WINNER’S ALLIES’ Higgs are divided in half. As before, 50% rounded down goes to the Nexus. The other 50% rounded up is divided among the LOSER and the LOSING ALLIES equally, rounded down, and any remainder goes to the Nexus.
Additionally, Allies participate in the RP resolution mechanic: the WINNER and the WINNER’S ALLIES all provide their own short description of what happens (the WINNER’S decision takes priority over the WINNER’S ALLIES decisions), and the LOSER and the LOSING ALLIES can collaborate to tell the story of how they were defeated.


CONFLICT WITH MORE THAN JUST TWO SIDES
We’re not sure how this works yet! So try not to get into any multi-dimensional battles while we’re building it, yeah?

USING HIGGS WITHOUT ANYONE ELSE AROUND
Hey, you never know what you can make.
Effort   Consequences   Scope

The Nexus is a socio-political game with a focus on collaborative storytelling. The conflict resolution system is designed to be very light and agile and to support the storytelling, not interfere with it.


 * We call this pure-roleplaying mechanic a “Pink Elephant” mechanic because of this classic Nexus example:
An Avatar builds a machine which produces 3' tall pink elephants which whine constantly. The Nexus can be filled with these, and the person who is responsible for it can explain to everyone that the noise of the whining elephants is drowning out all conversation. As long as this continues to be accepted as a role playing element, everyone has a good time with it. However, another person comes along and attempts to use an item with a verbal component, and Mr. Elephant person says "You can't use that, because the elephants are drowning you out". Suddenly, that has crossed the line, because a role playing prop with no substance is going up against a written game mechanic. It is, however, up to the person who wants to use the item whether or not to go along with it or to defy the whining elephants and use his item anyway.
Remember that the basic concept of the Nexus is that you can do whatever you want while role playing, as long as you do not affect anything mechanic-related. Generally, you can achieve any effect you want as long as it is accepted and not challenged, AND you can come up with a good in-character reason why you would be able to produce that effect
Logged
--Andy Sirkin
Director of Operations & Director of Hospitality
Avatar System GM

The Super
"I ain't baby-proofing the Nexus just cause some kobalds keep getting into the furnace. Maybe a little fire'll learn 'em some."

Abigail

  • New Meeper
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 32
Re: Current Rules
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2016, 08:51:54 PM »

♀ - How does one go about creating a permanent structure in the Nexus' current focal point (ie. a small shop next to the Inn and alchemy shop)?
« Last Edit: July 05, 2016, 09:27:57 PM by Abigail »
Logged
A witch ought never to be frightened in the darkest forest ... because she should be sure in her soul that the most terrifying thing in the forest was her - Terry Pratchett

Fox McCloud

  • Dobakiin
  • Moderator
  • Mega Meeper
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1254
  • Double Exposure Secret Police
Re: Current Rules
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2016, 12:49:30 AM »

I would say any permanent structures at least for now would go through GMs and cost/upkeep would be decided on a case by case basis depending on what one would want from the structure.
Logged
"What the lion cannot manage to do, the Fox can."  -German Proverb

"The state that separates its scholars from its warriors will have its thinking done by cowards, and its fighting by fools."
— Thucydides

"House Ares!  HOAH!"

Abigail

  • New Meeper
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 32
Re: Current Rules
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2016, 06:52:25 AM »

♀ - Small arcane bookstore and cafe.  Patrons can borrow books and get coffee, tea, and pastries by donating books on magickal/metaphysical topics, or arcane items and/or spell components.
Logged
A witch ought never to be frightened in the darkest forest ... because she should be sure in her soul that the most terrifying thing in the forest was her - Terry Pratchett

Dragontologist

  • Con Suite: Feeding Hungry Gamers Everywhere
  • Administrator
  • Mega Meeper
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1286
    • Double Exposure
Re: Current Rules
« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2016, 09:34:26 AM »

Specifically, every event you can put an upkeep of one Higgs into a single permanent structure (after it's been approved by the GM's). If you miss an event, the amount "banked" in the structure decreases at the same rate. So if you put in one Higgs for three events, and then stop attending entirely, it will take three events for the structure to disappear.
Logged
--Andy Sirkin
Director of Operations & Director of Hospitality
Avatar System GM

The Super
"I ain't baby-proofing the Nexus just cause some kobalds keep getting into the furnace. Maybe a little fire'll learn 'em some."

Abigail

  • New Meeper
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 32
Re: Current Rules
« Reply #5 on: July 06, 2016, 10:19:26 AM »

♀ - So ... would I be able to manifest the location on the current map?  Wanted to know before I proceeded with the roleplay on the IC thread.
Logged
A witch ought never to be frightened in the darkest forest ... because she should be sure in her soul that the most terrifying thing in the forest was her - Terry Pratchett
Pages: [1]   Go Up